{ Pipeline Creeping West }

February 14, 2014 § Leave a comment

Continuing my coverage of the Flanagan South Pipeline this week, I was told, “You’re almost too late. They’re nearly done.” (I was also told, “I thought you’d be driving a Prius.” How about that.) These photos are on Enbridge’s second spread northeast of Shelbina, Mo.

Pipeline sections lined up for welding. Welding equipment is at the far left, and they expected to be to the foreground within a few hours. Covers on the end were taken off at about noon.

Pipeline sections lined up for welding. Welding equipment is at the far left, and they expected to be to the foreground within a few hours. Covers on the end were taken off at about noon.

Inside the pipeline nautilus!

Inside the pipeline nautilus!

BMPs in place over a stream. "Bridges" of wooden slats were placed in lowland areas to try and not disturb the soil. I believe the pipeline in the background is the Spearhead line, but couldn't get that confirmed on site.

Best Management Practices in place over a stream. “Bridges” of wooden slats were placed in lowland areas to try and not disturb the soil. I believe the pipeline in the background is the Spearhead line, but couldn’t get that confirmed on site.

This pipe was made in Canada, and those zeros look pretty happy about that.

This pipe was made in Canada, and those zeros look pretty happy about that.

"You got it? Do I look cool? Do I look like I know what I'm doing?"

“You got it? Do I look cool? Do I look like I know what I’m doing?”

"Goalposts" meant to keep tall equipment from hitting electric and telephone lines.

“Goalposts” meant to keep tall equipment from hitting electric and telephone lines.

The "after." Not a ton going on, but underneath is seeded and layered with straw.

The “after” shot, near Cairo, Mo. Not a ton going on, but underneath is seeded and layered with straw.

Lining audio up for a KBIA piece. More to come!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading { Pipeline Creeping West } at The Gasconader.

meta

