{ Midwest Diva }

February 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

So what’s this blog all about?

cliftyLet’s start with the name! There’s a long and lovely waterway in Missouri called the Gasconade River. It touches both of the Ozark towns where I grew up, it’s the longest and crookedest stream in the state, and the river is simply beautiful. It’s escaped dams and survived oil spills and who knows what else. For local readers who got the reference right away, consider this a wink in your direction. We’re going to be friends.

“Gasconade” has other meanings. Bravado. Boastful talk. To boast extravagantly. From French gasconnade, from gasconner to chatter, boast like a Gascon.

Once you get to know me, this last part might seem strange. I try to avoid bragging and, frankly, have little patience for anyone who thinks too highly of themselves. But get me talking about Missouri, the Midwest, and people doing awesome things? That’s a gasconade at least 280 miles long.

So while I find my voice and my focus, you can count on this general goal: I will hunt down that hard-working Middle American experience and show it off, trophy-like, on this little part of the internet. Bravado will ensue.

I can only hope to be half the Midwest Diva that Leslie Hall is. Hit it, Leslie!

The pride of Iowa and . . . figurehead of my future canoe? I say yes.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading { Midwest Diva } at The Gasconader.

meta

